top of page


The Lost Season

2020 is a year we will never forget.  Spring athletes all across New York started practice on Monday, March 9, only to see everything shut down by the end of the week.  No scrimmages, no games, no league playoffs, no sectionals, and no state championships.

Take a look at the timeline of events that defined the spring of 2020:

Monday, March 9: Spring sports season begins all across New York.  It will only last until the end of the week.

Wednesday, March 11: The last sporting events in the Section IV season take place, as Maine-Endwell girls basketball beats Cornwall 49-42, and Johnson City boys basketball defeats New Paltz 76-70 in a pair of first round state playoff games at Vestal High School.  Both teams are scheduled to play in state quarterfinal games that Friday, but it is not meant to be.

Thursday, March 12: The remaining winter sports state championships get postponed.  Basketball, bowling, and ice hockey never get a chance to crown state champions, as these events eventually get scrapped altogether.

Sunday, March 15: Many districts start announcing that schools will be closed for the time being, with many aiming to return in-person in mid-April.  It never happens.

Monday, March 23: With schools closed and cases of coronavirus rising each day, NYSPHSAA cancels the remaining winter sports championships.

Monday, April 27: With the school year still in limbo, NYSPHSAA cancels the 2020 spring sports state championships.  The decision to hold local sectional tournaments is still on the table, but only if students return to school, which will be closed until at least May 15.

Friday, May 1: Governor Cuomo announces that all schools will remain closed for in-person learning for the rest of the 2020 school year.  As a result, spring sports are cancelled for 2020 after only a week of practice back in March.

A list of 2020 seniors who were selected as state or local all-stars in 2019.  Kudos to everyone for their fantastic careers!

New York State All-Stars

Class AA

Tess Cites, Horseheads (3rd Team, 2-time selection)

Ellie Daugherty, Corning (5th Team)

Maiah Skakal, Horseheads (5th Team)

Class A

Allie L'Amoreaux, Maine-Endwell (1st Team, 2-time selection)

Meredith Rose, Maine-Endwell (7th Team, 2-time selection)

Class B

Alex Deeter, Susquehanna Valley (1st Team)

Riley Hall, Waverly (4th Team)

Class C

Riley Vincent, Edison (1st Team)

Reagan Seelye, Edison (2nd Team)

KK Bush, Edison (3rd Team)

Grace Vondracek, Odessa-Montour (4th Team)

Jennah Kareem, Candor (5th Team)

Class D

Mikayla Martin, Deposit (1st Team, 4-time selection)

Section IV All-Stars




Johnson City: Brooke Ladd

Maine-Endwell: Allie L'Amoreaux, Meredith Rose

Vestal: Samantha Berube


Corning: Erin Austin, Ellie Daugherty

Elmira: Kiarah Glover

Horseheads: Madison Rogers, Maiah Skakel, Tess Cites, Abby Packard 



Chenango Forks: Avery Copeland

Chenango Valley: McKenna Beers

Susquehanna Valley: Alex Deeter, Sophie Keehle





Division 1


Candor: Jennah Kareem

Marathon: Breanna Mitchell

Odessa-Montour: Grace Vondracek, Lydia Lynch, Jolynn Minnier

Honorable Mention

Groton: Jaelynne Harriott

Marathon: Molly Merihew

Southern Cayuga: Kaley Driscoll, Lilly Colton

Division 2


Edison: Riley Vincent, KK Bush, Reagan Seelye

Tioga: Michaela Webb

Honorable Mention

Edison: Ryleigh Carson

Spencer-Van Etten: Hannah Harmon

Tioga: Giovanna Rossi

Division 3


Dryden: Alexa Sicina

Elmira Notre Dame: Taylor Van Dine

Newark Valley: Marissa Berghorn

Waverly: Paige Lewis

Honorable Mention

Elmira Notre Dame: Chloe Stemmerman, Peyton Maloney

Newark Valley: Cassidy Hoffmier, April Simmons

Watkins Glen: Kelsey Kernan

Waverly: Morgan Adams





1st Team

Deposit: Mikayla Martin

Unatego: Hali Lucia

2nd Team

Unatego: Paige McCoy

Honorable Mention

Bainbridge-Guilford: Bailey Hart

Greene: Baileigh Estabrook

Hancock:  Brenna Gleim

Unadilla Valley: Meegan White

Unatego: Mallory Frazier




1st Team

Milford: Samantha Harvey


2nd Team

Cherry Valley-Springfield: Kelsey Girard

Schenevus: Alexia Piercy

Honorable Mention

Milford: Aubrey Hall




1st Team

Gilboa: Sierra Perry, Liz Cherry

Hunter-Tannersville: Peyton Legg

2nd Team

South Kortright: Emily Feltman

Honorable Mention

Gilboa: Alexa Dumas, Kelli-Jo Van Valkenburgh

Jefferson: Amber Cole

South Kortright: Sonia Reeves

bottom of page